Guide Dogs People Awards 2016

The People Awards was an enjoyable and truly inspiring event. Staff and volunteer finalists who have made a huge difference to an individual or group of people over the last year came together to hear each other’s stories.

Director of People and Business Services Mike Holt, overall volunteer Mohammed Rashid, Trustee Mike Nussbaum

Volunteer of the year Mohammed Rashid won his award for the fantastic work he is doing in Birmingham. As a Muslim living in the city, family, friends and the community had reservations over him having a guide dog and he had to face his fear of dogs too. Now, 12 months on, he is an ambassador for Guide Dogs in an area that previously had little or no awareness of us and across the City as a whole.

Trustee Mike Nussbaum, overall staff member Amy Petterson, Director of People and Business Services Mike Holt

Amy Petterson was named staff member of the year for her incredible achievement guiding guide dog owner Kevin Crompton to complete the gruelling Yorkshire 100k.  She expertly guided him, keeping him safe with detailed explanations of the ground conditions. They had to contend with narrow pathways, boggy grassland and cliff edges - yet Amy still finished with a smile on her face!

2016 award wimmers

The event was rounded off with a speech from Verity Smith, a GB dressage rider, author, singer, trapeze artist, playwright and guide dog owner. She told her own touching story, full of funny anecdotes, about her journey to come to terms with her sight loss.

The winners in each category are:

Dedicated to superior quality
Staff winner – Kath Munro
Volunteer winner – Newcastle Volunteer Voices Group

Staff winner – Steve Andrews
Volunteer winner – Betty Griffin

Inclusive and embracing
Staff winner – Helen Sismore
Volunteer winner – Mohammed Rashid

Customer focused
Staff winner – Gail Low
Volunteer winner – Frank Lynn

Maximising impact
Staff winner – Campaigns Team
Volunteer winner – Deirdre McVean

Passionate and determined
Staff winner – Amy Petterson
Volunteer winner – Lyn Stapley