Pavement Parking Bill 2015

Supporters Gallery Banner

Badly parked cars, vans and other vehicles are putting the lives of pedestrians up and down the country at risk every day. YouGov research conducted on behalf of Guide Dogs found that the problem of vehicles parked on pavements is rife - a huge 80% of people see vehicles parked on pavements at least once a week. Parking on pavements can block the footway, forcing pedestrians into busy roads. Guide Dogs is concerned that this is making some cities and town centres into no-go zones for people who are blind or partially sighted - many of whom can’t see when it’s safe to step into the road.

A Private Member's Bill calling to end irresponsible pavement parking will be given its second reading on Friday 4th December 2015. Guide Dogs and our partners want politicians to back the change in the law.

The Bill has been put forward by Simon Hoare, Conservative MP for North Dorset. The following MPs have pledged their support for the Pavement Parking Bill for its second reading. Can’t find your MP in our list? You can email them to ask for their support using our online tool.

Simon Hoare MP North DorsetSimon Hoare MP North Dorset

Seema Malhotra Mp Feltham And Heston
Seema Malhotra Mp - Feltham And Heston

Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP Berwick-upon-TweedAnne-Marie Trevelyan MP Berwick-upon-Tweed

Byron Davies MP GowerByron Davies MP Gower

Jo Stevens MP Cardiff CentralJo Stevens MP Cardiff Central

Johnny Mercer MP Plymouth , MoorviewJohnny Mercer MP Plymouth, Moorview

Mark Tami MP Alyn And DeesideMark Tami MP Alyn and Deeside

Matthew Pennycook MP Greenwich And WoolwichMatthew Pennycook MP Greenwich and Woolwich

Nick Thomas -Symonds MP TorfaenNick Thomas-Symonds MP Torfaen

Stephen Pound MP Ealing NorthStephen Pound MP Ealing North

Andy Slaughter MP - HammersmithAndy Slaughter MP - Hammersmith

David Mackintosh MP Northampton SouthDavid Mackintosh MP Northampton South

Flick Drummond MP - Portsmouth SouthFlick Drummond MP - Portsmouth South

Margaret Ferrier MP - Rutherglen And Hamilton WestMargaret Ferrier MP - Rutherglen and Hamilton West

Rebecca Harris MP - Castle PointRebecca Harris MP - Castle Point

Ronnie Cowan MP - InverclydeRonnie Cowan MP - Inverclyde

Susan Elan Jones MP - Clwyd SouthSusan Elan Jones MP - Clwyd South

Toby Perkins MP - ChesterfieldToby Perkins MP - Chesterfield

Bob Stewart Mp BeckenhamBob Stewart Mp - Beckenham

Chris Davies Mp Brecon And Radnorshire
Chris Davies Mp - Brecon And Radnorshire
 Christina Rees Mp Neath
Christina Rees Mp - Neath
 Helen Hayes Mp Dulwich And West Norwood
Helen Hayes Mp -Dulwich And West Norwood
 Maria Caulfield Mp Lewes
Maria Caulfield Mp - Lewes
 Matthew Offord Mp Hendon
Matthew Offord Mp - Hendon

Scott Mann Mp North Cornwall
Scott Mann Mp -North Cornwall
 Jack Dromey Mp Birmingham Erdington
Jack Dromey Mp - Birmingham Erdington

 Frank Field MP BirkenheadFrank Field Mp - Birkenhead

 Mike Wood Mp Dudley South
Mike Wood Mp - Dudley South
Andy Mcdonald Mp Middlesbrough
Andy Mcdonald Mp Middlesbrough

James Berry Mp Kingston Upon Thames And SurbitonJames Berry Mp Kingston Upon Thames And Surbiton

Kevin Foster Mp Torbay
Kevin Foster Mp Torbay

Philip Hollobone Mp Kettering
Philip Hollobone Mp Kettering

Wayne David Mp CaerphillyWayne David Mp Caerphilly

Julian Knight Mp Solihull Bill Teller Julian Knight Mp Solihull Bill Teller



The Pavement Parking Bill is also supported by the following organisations:

  • Living Streets
  • British Parking Association
  • Brake
  • Disabled Motoring UK
  • Local Government Association
  • National Association of Head Teachers
  • SeeAbility
  • Transport For All
  • Whizz-Kidz
  • National Federation of Occupational Pensioners
  • Campaign for Better Transport
  • Civic Voice
  • National Pensioners Convention
  • Age UK
  • Blind Children UK
  • Deafblind UK
  • RNIB
  • Sense
  • Thomas Pocklington Trust
  • Leonard Cheshire
  • The Glass-House
  • Action on Hearing Loss 
  • RoSPA
  • Spinal Injury Association
  • RLSB
  • Macular Society